Miracle Berries: More Fun Than Licking Toads

Not that I’d know.

Have you heard of miracle fruit?  I hadn’t until Jenny at I’m Never Full introduced the rest of the Houston Chowhounds to this arcane bit of nature.  She wrote an entry on the mysterious fruit, describing them as “trippy berries” that will “change your tastebuds for 30 mins to an hour and cause sour and bitter foods to taste sweet.”  Foodies everywhere have begun hosting events called — appropriately enough — “flavor tripping parties” to explore the tongue-altering properties of this tiny berry.  Think of it as legal shrooming…for your mouth.

The miracle fruit was first discovered by Europeans in West Africa in the 18th century, where it was noted that the local tribes picked and ate the berry — which is in the same family of tropical flowering plants that produces shea butter and star apples — before their meals.  Considering the fact that West African tribal diets consisted mainly of yams, seeds, chili paste, millet, and sorghum, I imagine that the flavor-altering properties of the miracle fruit were quite welcome for an occasional change of pace.

The miracle fruit works its magic by releasing a glycoprotein molecule (similar to a monosaccharide) called miraculin when eaten.  Those molecules bind to your tongue and alter the way that your tastebuds’ receptors react to acidic or sour foods.  As a result, sour and/or acidic foods taste sweet.  This effect lasts for up to an hour after consuming miracle fruit.

Miracle fruit isn’t a sweet in and of itself – that is, it doesn’t taste sweet — but researchers have been trying for decades to establish it as a sweetener or flavor additive in foods.  Think about it: people would no longer be dependent upon such unhealthy sweeteners as white sugar or high-fructose corn syrup.  Rates of obesity and diabetes could sharply decline as we cut those things out of our diets.  You could make lemonade or limeade with no sugar at all; eat a tart grapefruit without dousing it in honey first; or enjoy a rhubarb pie without a side of strawberry ice cream to cut the sourness of the rhubarb (well, actually, I’d still do that…I will never give up my rhubarb pie with ice cream).  All you would have to do is eat one miracle berry first.

So what’s the holdup?  Temperatures over 100° F unfortunately destroy the miraculin compound, so it can’t be used in baking or canning or any other activity involving the application of heat.  Fresh berries can be frozen or refrigerated for a few days, but don’t keep for very long.  The best method for preserving the miraculin so far has been through a powdered concentrate of the berries, but the FDA denied its approval as a food additive in the 1970s.  It’s not that the powder was unsafe, mind you; powerful corn and sugar lobbies simply prevented it from being approved as it threatened their very existence (as you can well imagine).

Until developers come up with a means of production available to the masses (and until lobbyists stop controlling our government, which should be right around the same time you can buy popsicles in hell), you only have a few options for trying this fascinating fruit.  You can purchase a plant and harvest its berries yourself, as Jenny did.  You can order a shipment of berries from a supplier for about $2 per berry.  Or you can attend one of the “flavor tripping” parties that have become so popular.

Houston Chowhounds will be hosting such an event in the coming months.  For more information (and to become a member of a great foodie community!), check out the group at our website:  Houston Chowhounds.  While a place and time haven’t yet been established, our order of miracle berries is on its way to our trusty head Hound.

You know you want to try them…

16 responses to “Miracle Berries: More Fun Than Licking Toads

  1. I DO, I do want to try them. I had heard about them very recently, don’t remember where.

    Also – More Fun Than Licking Toads. Hehehehe.

  2. Hey I was checking out a bunch of sites on miracle fruit and I came across this nice blog. I have imported some miracle fruit tablets which have the exact same effect as the fruit but less cost, and longer shelf life! Check out my site http://www.buy-miracle-fruit.com and if you mention sheeats wordpress blog in your paypal order, I will refund 10% of your purchase price. thanks and email me directly if you have a Question

  3. yeah, I tried the tablet form, and it’s amazing. I was at a restaurant eating lemons that tasted like candy.

  4. Pingback: Flavor Tripping « she eats.

  5. I have a video here of Gordon Ramsay and oscar winning actress Juliette Binosh on The Graham Norton Show, trying out the berries. Check out http://www.foodtvblog.com/

  6. Amazing experience has anyone tried it after a night out drinking? completely removes the hangover and lightens the effects massively,

    I just purchased myself a plant from http://www.MiracleFruitHut.com Really great pricing.

  7. I seriously, SERIOUSLY doubt that, Dantel. Nice try, though.

  8. Funny enough it is true, And my experience outweighs your uneducated doubt.

    it is infact really interesting you can take a tablet before a night out drinking and one before you go to bed and you will feel far better it most definately lightens the effects i know many who take it for this exact reason and obviously because its taste altering effects.

    Alot of natures properties has many benefits for us in our lives we just have to realise how we can make use of it.

  9. I have been trying for ages to get the nutritional and chemical component of this berry. I like it very much because it makes me consume sour or bitter fruits gracefully. The name of this miracle fruit is called ‘tahnmi’ and am working to package properly for the market. Have them in my village. Hope to keep you posted.

  10. I recommend making a limon grapfruit smoothy, the perfect miracle fruit drink

  11. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say you have done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Opera. Exceptional Blog!

  12. I really like that. You touched my heart!

  13. Hiya! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin
    that might be able to correct this problem. If
    you have any recommendations, please share. Many thanks!

  14. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on
    this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site.
    Reading this information So i am happy to express that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I
    came upon just what I needed. I most without a doubt will make sure to don?
    t omit this website and provides it a look regularly.

  15. Currently it seems like Drupal is the top blogging
    platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  16. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to give something back and help others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply

