Tuesday Trivia

Today’s trivia will be a bit different.  Instead of me asking you textbook-style questions with definitive answers, I want to know a little bit about you.  Below are five questions (no bonus this week!) so that we can all get to know a little about each other.

  1. What food(s) did you hate as a child but have come to appreciate or even love as an adult?
  2. What food reminds you most strongly of your childhood and why?
  3. Has there ever been a food of which you were initially suspicious, but then surprised to find that you enjoy?
  4. What do you think is the most overrated and/or underrated restaurant in Houston?  If you don’t reside in Houston, then what is your favorite restaurant where you live?
  5. If you were in charge of carny food at the circus, which food item would you put onto a stick?

I can’t wait to see your answers!!!

17 responses to “Tuesday Trivia

  1. 1. Surprisingly enough, vegetables of any sort cooked. I was always a more raw veggie kid, but have grown to appreciate veggies cooked the right way (not soggy). Though cooked carrots are still the devil’s food.

    2. Lima beans. My great-grandmother made a pot every Friday night & it was such a big part of my childhood because I spent every Friday night there and ALWAYS looked forward to it.

    3. Oysters. I love them now though was very skeptical in the beginning.

    4. There are way too many on both ends of the spectrum to say, but The Coliseum in Clear Lake is awesome Italian, Captain Tom’s seafood in Katy & on the East Freeway does oysters cheap and flounder you can’t beat, and No-Name Bar-B-Q in Pasadena does a stuffed potato that is so yummy. I’m hungry now.

    5. Something silly, like mini cupcakes or tartlets.

  2. 1. zucchini
    2. chicken and dumplings — it was my favorite dish when both of my grandmothers made it during my childhood, but I never get to eat it as an adult
    3. sauteed grasshoppers
    4. tony’s / cafe mezza
    5. 3 or 4 beef testicles ( I would call it “stick of meat balls”)

  3. ooooh! love the trivia this week. heremegoes!
    1. mushrooms, eggplant, fish, and cilantro
    2. rice porridge (not seasoned like congee). my grandparents made me eat this stuff every morning. and luby’s b/c my mom didn’t cook much.
    3. uni
    4. overrated: ninfa’s on navigation, underrated: le mistral
    5. chicken gizzards or lardons and cheese

  4. What food(s) did you hate as a child but have come to appreciate or even love as an adult?
    Brussels sprouts…and beets!! LOVE em!

    What food reminds you most strongly of your childhood and why?
    Red Velvet Cake because my mother made this for me every birthday and Liver and Onions….my Mom made the BEST!

    Has there ever been a food of which you were initially suspicious, but then surprised to find that you enjoy?
    I don’t remember being suspicious of anything, really…I’ve always been an adventurous eater.

    What do you think is the most overrated and/or underrated restaurant in Houston?
    Underrated ~ Le Mistral
    Overrated ~ Carrabba’s, Taste of Texas

    If you were in charge of carny food at the circus, which food item would you put onto a stick?
    Foie gras!!!

  5. In order to protect the integrity of this blog I’m going to withhold my answers.

  6. 1. Salad
    2. Pot roast. Mother cooked a great pot roast on most Sundays. yummy
    3. Broccoli. Didn’t like the look of the “little trees”.
    4. Cattleman’s SteakHouse is overrated. Can’t think of any underrated.
    5. Can’t beat a Fletcher’s hot dog, so I guess nothing.

  7. 1. fish. i grew up in bolivia. we are landlocked and fish rarely made it to our meals.

    2. hard boiled eggs, boiled potatoes, llajua. i ate this on rainy nights with my grandpa in bolivia. we would share out of one bowl while watching bruce lee movies.

    3. uni. while at rickshaw i tried it for the first time. its texture was like butter, but tasted like ear wax. never wanted to try it again! a month ago or so i was out with jj. tried it and i loved it!

    4. overrated: i have a list, but i will be professional and not burn bridges. underrated: shade, kubo’s, pollo rico

    5. anticucho. skewer beef heart. ate it as a child!

  8. 1. asparagus
    2. roast beef, it was about the only food mom could cook (she did it well though), we had it every sunday
    3. oysters
    4. over – any fertitta related joint
    under – josephines on caroline
    5. scallops or giant gummy bears

  9. Jumping in from India to answer trivia this week

    What food(s) did you hate as a child but have come to appreciate or even love as an adult?

    milk, tea (chai)

    What food reminds you most strongly of your childhood and why?

    ghee – clarified butter – it was my favorite topping for all foods

    Has there ever been a food of which you were initially suspicious, but then surprised to find that you enjoy?

    baba ghanoush

    What do you think is the most overrated and/or underrated restaurant in Houston? If you don’t reside in Houston, then what is your favorite
    restaurant where you live?

    Overrated – Kirans and Madras Pavilion
    Underrated – Original Morningside thai

    If you were in charge of carny food at the circus, which food item would you put onto a stick?

    Panner tikka

  10. Hi All.

    First of all, Congrats on the 500!

    1.Meat and Potato Pie.
    2.Caramel Shortcake. Served to me at Primary School, the pastry was at least 2cm thick and the Caramel was so sticky that I’m sure it would hold the Space Shuttle together. Sugar Heaven
    3.Rattlesnake
    4.Bon Amis is a very underrated little French Restaurant in Cheshire. Full of French Classics with a twist and very reasonably priced.
    5.Icecream, dipped in Belgian chocolate, rolled in toasted oats, dipped in more chocolate, rolled in grated sponge cake and finally deep-fried!

  11. 1. Definitely brussel sprouts. Love them today, but in 1974, I believe there was no word for ‘sauteed in olive oil with pepper’….

    2. Bratwurst and german mustard – grew up over there and the smell of a good scharf mustard and grilling wurst sends me to the way-back machine.

    3. Huitlacoche – tried it in Mexico City a few years ago – that’s corn fungus for all you non-aztecs. Just close your eyes – food shouldn’t be that shade of gray, no matter how yummy.

    4. Just discovered Doyle’s on the northside. Been open for 1/2 a century and with good reason! Definitely underrated.

    5. What would I put on a stick? What *wouldn’t* I put on a stick. How ’bout fried rattle snake – really long stick, the whole snake just tied around the stick.

  12. 1. What food(s) did you hate as a child but have come to appreciate or even love as an adult?

    Asian food. I never had a taste for any of it as a kid, but I LOVE it as an adult.

    2. What food reminds you most strongly of your childhood and why?

    Probably mac and cheese. It was just always good no matter what variety.

    3. Has there ever been a food of which you were initially suspicious, but then surprised to find that you enjoy?

    Tofu. I was a vegetarian, but didn’t want to eat the stuff in anything. Now, I use the silken variety as a replacement for all sorts of things and eat the stir fried stuff all the time. I think, honestly, I was suspicious of lots of foods that I now love.

    4. What do you think is the most overrated and/or underrated restaurant in Houston? If you don’t reside in Houston, then what is your favorite restaurant where you live?

    Overrated: Shade. I love my Heights, but this place just never blew me away. It’s ok, but I just never found anything there I loved.

    Underrated: Charlie’s Hamburgers. Great burgers for not a lot of money.

    5. If you were in charge of carny food at the circus, which food item would you put onto a stick?

    If I could get nachos on there…but, really, I think anything fried would be fine. 🙂

  13. 1. Fennel, Asparagus, and Brussels Sprouts. In that order. Still trying to like beets.

    2. We always used to make fresh peach ice cream on the 4th of July. Blueberries straight off the bush are another one (I grew up in Oregon). And my mom’s pea salad (peas, red onion, cashews, crispy chow mein noodles, and mayonnaise). Yum.

    3. Eggplant. And I’m ashamed to admit it, but sushi, as in the raw fish variety. (I always liked the veegie ones.) Oh! And sweetbreads, cooked properly, are incredibly delicious.

    4. Well, I’ve only spent one night in Houston in my life. But in Paris, my go-to places are Les Fernandises (11th) and Le Bastringue (19th). There are posts about each on my blog!

    5. My first thought was foie gras, followed almost immediately by lait cru Camembert.

  14. 1. What food(s) did you hate as a child but have come to appreciate or even love as an adult?

    Onions – I never hated the, per se, but I wasn’t a fan. Now I cook with them nearly every day or at least put them on my sandwiches.

    2. What food reminds you most strongly of your childhood and why?

    Matzo ball soup, as it was unique to my childhood (until I can make a good bowl of my own, that is)

    3. Has there ever been a food of which you were initially suspicious, but then surprised to find that you enjoy?

    Like Jo, I was never suspicious. I was always willing to try anything and never assumed there was something I wouldn’t like. Though there ARE things I don’t like. 🙂

    4. What do you think is the most overrated and/or underrated restaurant in Houston? If you don’t reside in Houston, then what is your favorite restaurant where you live?

    Sounds like Houston really does have an interesting dining scene. I’ll have to check it out sometime when I visit my brother-in-law who just moved there.

    5. If you were in charge of carny food at the circus, which food item would you put onto a stick?

    Hm, I dunno on this one. I’m not very creative that way. *Shrug*

    I loved reading these answers!

  15. 1. What food(s) did you hate as a child but have come to appreciate or even love as an adult?

    Wheat bread…I still looooove me some white bread, but The Wife knows best…so I “appreciate” it now…I guess.

    2. What food reminds you most strongly of your childhood and why?

    Chocolate pudding…not instant. Mom cooked it and stuck it in the fridge to cool…the waiting was unbearable, but once it had that delicious skin on top, you could pour cold milk on top…mmmm…pudding soup.

    3. Has there ever been a food of which you were initially suspicious, but then surprised to find that you enjoy?

    Queso flameado. Once mom told me it was a “Mexican pizza” I was all about it.

    4. If you don’t reside in Houston, then what is your favorite restaurant where you live?

    Wink in Austin.

    5. If you were in charge of carny food at the circus, which food item would you put onto a stick?

    Screw the stick…I’m stealing my buddy’s idea and putting pizza in a waffle cone…yeeeeaaaahhh, boy!

  16. What food(s) did you hate as a child but have come to appreciate or even love as an adult? Oysters….now, I adore them – anyway I can get them.

    What food reminds you most strongly of your childhood and why? Fried Chicken – my Mom or Mimi made it for “Sunday dinner” after church.

    Has there ever been a food of which you were initially suspicious, but then surprised to find that you enjoy? Growing up in a very small town, Indian was a complete mystery – but I love it, and cook my own!

    What do you think is the most overrated and/or underrated restaurant in Houston? If you don’t reside in Houston, then what is your favorite restaurant where you live? Overrated? See Tilman Ferttita. Underrated? Kasra, Tio Pepe, Pico’s.

    If you were in charge of carny food at the circus, which food item would you put onto a stick? pan-fried pork dumplings.

  17. Pingback: Tuesday Trivia « she eats.

Leave a Reply

