Trivia Tuesday

Hello, out there, readers in L.A. and SoCal!  Feeling better yet?  Yowza.  An anecdote, just for y’all, today:

I was on a mostly-all-day conference call with some vendors up until a few minutes ago.  Half of the participants were at the vendor’s Los Angeles headquarters.  At about 1:45pm (my time), there were some gasps and then a mad flurry of beep-beep-beeping as they all simultaneously dropped off the conference call.

The rest of us sat in silence for a moment before someone spoke up.  “What just happened?” asked one of the brokers.  No one knew, but we guessed from the gasping before the beeps that it wasn’t simply a bad connection.

Then, within sixty seconds from the calls being dropped, a participant logged back into the call.  Then two more.  Then the rest.  More beep-beep-beeping as they all rejoined us.  “Sorry about that,” one of them hastily exclaimed, her voice tinged with annoyance.

“Is everything okay?” my boss inquired.

“Yeah, yeah.  Just an earthquake,” one vendor explained.  “Nothing big.”

A chorus of verbal interrobangs quickly followed from everyone not in California.  “What are you doing back on the call?  Didn’t the line get dropped?” someone else asked.

The no-nonsense response from California: “Yeah, obviously.  We’re all on our Blackberries now, though.  Let’s keep going.”

Y’all are hardcore when ya wanna be, SoCal.

***

Questions:

  1. Which TV channel do you feel has better food programming and why: Food Network, Travel Channel, Mojo or PBS?
  2. If you could travel to any country or region for one month to learn to cook their native cuisine, which would you choose?
  3. Which is the greater art form?  Wine-making or beer-brewing?
  4. Do you consider yourself more of a food nerd or a food snob?
  5. Why do you suppose it is that “What would you eat for your last meal?” is such a popular esoteric question?  Do you believe that a person’s answer reflects who they are as a person?

All right, ramblers…  Let’s get rambling!

12 responses to “Trivia Tuesday

  1. 1. PBS. Child. Pepin. Yan. Bayless. Ok, then.

    2. Shanghai. If I could make great xiaolongbao I’d never leave the house during winter. Well…except for ramen…and bratwurst…and…oh, nevermind.

    3. Beer-brewing. Bad tasting beer isn’t afforded the same apologetics given to bad tasting wine. :::Braces for the hate:::

    4. Food nerd. I can’t and won’t hide my love for hot dogs!

    5. Mostly I suspect many people would give answers meant to impress instead of naming the thing they’d enjoy the most. So, “It gives a chance for people to present the person they want you to see them as.” and “Yes.”

  2. 1) I’d have to say PBS. I love the Food Network, but it has turned into Skinemax Food. Ugh.
    2) Vietnam for the pho, delicate seafood dishes, dumplings, and shrimp/pork rolls. And Thailand for the spicy soups, curries, and noodle dishes. I want to make out with Asian food.
    3) Tough question. I’d have to say wine making, but really it’s just b/c I prefer to drink light beer over the darker craft beers.
    4) Food nerd, but steak snob.
    5) Love that question! It always brings a smile even though it implies such a finite ending. It’s sort of dangerous happiness… Yes, I think it 100% reflects who a person is.

  3. Food Network, Travel Channel, Mojo or PBS?
    Please don’t even get me started on that abomination that used to be called “The Food Network”. They’ve ruined a great network and they are damned to the pits of hell. PBS and Mojo have some really cool stuff. Also, Fine Living has picked up some great foodie programming. LOVE Bourdain on Travel.

    If you could travel to any country or region for one month to learn to cook their native cuisine, which would you choose?

    India….would love to learn all the nuances of the different regions’ food and cooking.

    Which is the greater art form? Wine-making or beer-brewing? Beer brewing most likely

    Do you consider yourself more of a food nerd or a food snob? More of a snob

    Why do you suppose it is that “What would you eat for your last meal?” is such a popular esoteric question? Do you believe that a person’s answer reflects who they are as a person?

    Probably reflects more who they wish they were than who they really are.

  4. 1)PBS now has a bit of an edge as their programming will usually have a strong educational component and the presentaional style is a bit dry, but never any “stunt” programs. Yes, Bourdain is The Man and After Hours w/ Daniel Bouloud is cool if a bit light. Yet my favorite show is Top Chef (Bravo)-drama, humor, and the fine moral compass that is Tom Colicchio.

    2) Tuscany- Where simplicity and excellence come together in foodie Shangra La

    3)Wine making- No offense to the beer Gods, but no contest here. Time, terroir, and considerably more nuance at the upper echelons of winemaking mark the difference.

    4)Food Nerd- I still love; dives, shacks, taco trucks and yes, the frozen food aisle is not off limits.

    5)This projects the notion of how we want to be perceived and a fantasy who we want to be.

  5. 1. I’m a fan of any channel that has pretty chefs that can give me multiple foogasms (i.e. Tom, Rocco, and especially Tony Bourdain). That being said, I’m a whore for the FN still and will on occassion still watch Rachael Ray. Yep, you can disown me now if you’d like. 🙂

    2. I’m such a sucker for good ceviche that I would love to perfect the art. None of this Mexican stuff either, but the truly heavenly dishes from Peru. Besides, Peru is the epitome of potatoes and who doesn’t need a bunch of starch?!

    3. Even though I’m a beer girl, I’ll have to say that it is much easier to screw up wine than beer. I can always swig a beer down even if it is awful, but bad wine? No way.

    4. In comparasion to my hubby, I’m a food nerd and he’s a snob, but probably compared the rest of normal mankind, I’m a snob. 🙂

    5. I think food says a lot about people. Those who refuse to try sushi bother me. If they try it and don’t like it, fine. But not trying it based on some preconceived notion? Not cutting it. There was a great thread on Yelp a few months ago that is worth a look over: http://www.yelp.com/topic/houston-dietary-restrictions-a-deal-breaker

  6. 1.) “Food Network, Travel Channel, Mojo or PBS?” – None of the above.

    a.) Food Network – what happens when Manhatten Marketing reps who were fired by NBC for greenlighting the XFL get to play at their own network.

    b.) Travel Channel – Uh huh, yeah. Anthony Bourdain and well…..

    c.) Mojo – AT&T U-verse doesn’t carry mojo, but we DO get Wealth TV, which has a LOT of good cooking shows. As does Universal HD BTW.

    d.) PBS – good except for the fact that NOTHING is ever on except during the middle of a freakin’ donation drive. I gave last week, now get back to the f-ing MOST IMPORTANT step of the trussed and lightly braised New Zealand Peacock will ya?

    On the whole I’m going to vote for QVC. Or Playboy TV when they do a “food fight” special. Now THAT’s food TV dammit!

    2.) New York. – Whad’dya mean there’s no “native” cuisine in NYC? I can take a whirlwind tour of all of the regions listed here, and throw in some Jewish deli training at the same time. Cow Tongue Curry Tuscan Style anyone?

    3. I would say this is a tie. As a drinker of both wine and beer its pretty obvious that making bad of either is a sin that should at LEAST be punishable by a side-trip to Dante’s convection oven for a month or two.

    Yes, I’m aware that “beer people” are getting their hackles raised up over “wine people” being snobs about whatever the heck ‘wine people’ are snobs about but I don’t care. What I DO care about is being thirsty and then being forced to knock back an inferior product. Are you hearing me here iNBev? How about making some changes there ya’ Belgian beer snobs.

    Sorry…where were we?

    4. I prefer to think of myself as a food storage facility. Anything else involves thinking about food and giving it more importance than it deserves.

    It’s food, you eat it. If you have a blog you take a picture of it before eating it and then write up some gooey words after eating it about how wonderful it all was.

    Then you go to the bathroom and its gone. See what I mean?

    5. Were I to be on Death Row and someone offered me a last meal my request would be an “all you can eat buffet”. The fact that no one has asked for this does indeed tell us something about the person being asked the question….

    Specifically it tells us that they are short-sighted and not too bright and haven’t thought this one through.

  7. 1. Discovery, when they used to show Great Chefs. Is that on anymore? Best. Cooking show. Ever.

    2. Emilia-Romagna – Prosciutto, Balsamico, Reggiano… I’m there! (Other than France, obviously.)

    3. Since I know next to nothing about making wine, but have made my own beer (Hatch chile – it rocked!), I know how much control you have over the finished product in beer-making. It seems to me that with wine, you start with good grapes and get good wine. Not much you can do about the weather. So my vote goes to beer!

  8. Shoot. Hit the wrong button. I’ll admit I don’t have much to contribute on the last meal question. But I prefer the term “food geek.”

  9. 1 – FOOD NETWORK – more variety, but PBS for old school programming

    2- India for sure…love Indian food and all it’s intricacies

    3 – I think they are both equally great in their art form – HOORAY FOR ANY BEVERAGE MAKER

    4 – Umm, yeah…food snob…my boyfriend said to me on Saturday night, as we sat at Tony’s, eating the foie gras “Thanks, you’ve ruined me for life…” (talking about expanding his food tastes)

    5 – I think from the beginning of time, people have always asked questions like that…Who would you like to have drinks with vein of conversation…Yes I think it does show their cultural view in a food perspective

  10. Hi there~
    Was logged in as Kristy up there…don’t mind deleting, eh?
    DOH!

    1 – FOOD NETWORK – more variety, but PBS for old school programming

    2- India for sure…love Indian food and all it’s intricacies

    3 – I think they are both equally great in their art form – HOORAY FOR ANY BEVERAGE MAKER

    4 – Umm, yeah…food snob…my boyfriend said to me on Saturday night, as we sat at Tony’s, eating the foie gras “Thanks, you’ve ruined me for life…” (talking about expanding his food tastes)

    5 – I think from the beginning of time, people have always asked questions like that…Who would you like to have drinks with vein of conversation…Yes I think it does show their cultural view in a food perspective

  11. I gotta represent here. I loved that anecdote about the Californians. For life, yo!

  12. 1. i watch any that has pretty chefs … bahaha! sorry. that was too funny. iron chefs cool. bourdains awesome as is zimmern. top chefs alright. after hours is cool. pbs is alright.

    2. vietnam.

    3. both are great. im no wine or beer snob. if it tastes good and makes me smile, im down.

    4. psh! i think this is best describe by misha when he described progressive thinking chefs as dungeons and dragons obsessed geeks.

    5. the question is just an ice breaker in a group setting. i dont think it really represents the person as a whole. theres so many things attached to a meal that you really couldnt decide on ONE last thing to eat.

Leave a Reply

