Tuesday Trivia: Part Your Call

After a long absence, we’re back to dueling trivia, folks.  That means one week of actual trivia followed by one week of freeform trivia.  And since last week was actual trivia, that means…today is all about you!

  1. Scholars mostly agree that the idea of the apple as the Forbidden Fruit in the Garden of Eden was a Roman Catholic creation, employed to subdue and cast aspersions upon the apple-loving barbaric tribes of Northern Europe.  What fruit would you choose to identify with the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil?
  2. You’ve been entered in a competitive eating contest and must finish ten pounds of one food/dish in one hour.  The catch?  You choose the food or dish.  What is it?
  3. Salt or sugar: only one for the rest of your life.  Which do you choose?
  4. What food or dish do you miss most from your childhood?
  5. What food or dish do you consider vitally important to pass on to your own children?
  6. BONUS:  If you could grow anything at all in a garden and were assured that it would flourish, but were limited to only five items, which would you choose?

I can’t wait to see y’all’s answers this week!  And be sure to stay tuned next week, when our “actual trivia” will have AN ACTUAL PRIZE.  Like, whoa.

See you then!

7 responses to “Tuesday Trivia: Part Your Call

  1. 1. Grapes – wine…both good and evil…mostly good.
    2. Boiled crawfish…can’t wait until they’re back in season.
    3. Tough one….salt.
    4. Planter’s Cheez Balls & Happy Meals
    5. Everything their grandma used to make. And my grandma’s red velvet cake.
    6. Jalapenos, Tomatoes, Limes, Ice Cold Beer, Money(you said anything)

  2. LOL, Chris. I like the way you think… 😉

  3. 1. Peaches, a good one straight from the tree in Fredricksburg will bring me to tears and a bad one from the grocery store will bring me to a whole different kind of tears.
    2. Shrimp. The smartest way would be boiled but if I look back on my history I’d have to say fried. I haven’t thought about that in forever but when I was a kid I used to tell my mom and dad that I would have it at my wedding and it would be my last meal. At the age of 10 I ate over 200 at an all you can eat restaurant🙂
    3. Salt, good lord is that even a question? Although I could choose sugar then go work out and lick myself in between french fries for the salt. My god, my tummy and brain are both a mess today.
    4. My mom’s tacos. Crunchy shells that fell apart drizzled with queso made from Kraft American Cheese rather than Velveeta. She wasn’t a great cook but she sure tried. Spicy ground beef and ice cold lettuce and tomatoes.
    5. It’s things like this that make me miss that I’ll never have kids. I would teach my kids the importance of good barbecue – how to recognize it and where to get it. There would be a lot of road trips.
    6. Tomatoes, peaches, brussel sprouts, more peaches, thornless blackberries that grew all year long.

  4. 1. I agree with Chris….grapes. Wine. Good for you, good tasting but overindulgence makes for a hellacious hangover. And then there’s that whole alchoholism thing.
    2. TEN POUNDS OF FOIE GRAS! O. M. G.!!! (I’m positive it would make me sick enough to swear off it forever, tho.)
    3. Salt is a necessity. Sugar a luxury.
    4. My grandmother’s fried apple pies. I would stab you in the eyes for just one. Nobody has ever been able to replicate them. Ever.
    5. Well, since my daughter has refused to spend more than 38 seconds at a time with me in the kitchen……….
    6. Heirloom tomatoes, raspberries, excellent peaches, a giant mango tree, avocados.

  5. 1. Persimmons, they are either crazy, eye-watering tart, or sweet (and i’m oddly not a fan, but, srsly thinking on planting one).

    2. I have to say shrimp, but, although I do love “coleboil” shrimp, I’d go for 10 lbs of jalapeno and cheese filled, bacon-wrapped grilled loveliness.

    3. Salt – I prefer “hard food” to desserts.

    4. My Grandma’s seafood gumbo, it’s the benchmark and everyone falls way short. Daddy’s barbecue, but, I have the “sop” recipe, *whew*.

    5. Proper roux and proper barbecue. My parents were not pre-packaged “box” food people and we almost never ate out. I thought it was sheer torture, now, I dream of some of the meals.

    Tomatoes, corn, field peas, asparagus and eggplant.

    KSG, I have lemon basil out my ears, you need any??? It’s taken on a life of it’s own….

  6. 1. The Tomato- The Catholic church considered tomatoes as the fruit of the Devil and as it’s so good in simple form (heirlooms w/ EVOO and Fleur de sel) and yet serves as the basis of so many complex dishs
    2.Chris is the man! Boiled crawfish all the way (I am a machine).
    3.Salt- Love all that sugar does, but I need salt
    4.My Hungarian G-Ma’s stuffed cabbage. My sister submitted her recipe to Cook’s Illustrated great lost recipe cookbook and it’s the first one in the book.
    5.Everything that is the wonderous pie (Have you seen Waitress?)My mom patiently taught me crusts, fillings etc.
    6.Thai Basil, raspberries, jalapenos, rhubarb (oh yeah!), Meyer lemons….uh, can I throw in a miracle berry tree?

  7. 1. Pomegranade – it’s tricky to handle, sweet and fragrant if done right, bitter and stale if not. And admittedly, ever since Persephone I am in love with the myth surrounding them.^^
    2. My grandmother’s potatoe pancakes with apple mash (Reibepfannkuchen). Hot and crisp, sweet yet savoury, I feel like I could eat through a mountain of them.
    3. Salt, definitely. I agree with Jo, you need salt, you can have sugar.
    4. Difficult… None really. I started to cook when I was five ( as legend has it) and cooked for my family since I was thirteen. So nothing to miss that I couldn’t reproduce. Maybe sometimes the packed, intstant tomatoesauce from the Miraculi spagetthi packs… That’s a solely childhood taste for me.
    5. Caramel – the magic of white, non-smelling sugar turning liquid first, then changes colour from honey to amber to reddish to brown to black, the smell that changes from sweet to savoury to revolting. All that just by heating a spoonful of white chystals in a pan. And if you look closely, that is what you will find as a part of every process when you bake or fry, being responsible for a lot of the aromes we love. That’s one thing of kitchen magic I’d love my kids to learn and understand.
    6. Potatoes, tomatoes, onions, spelt and apples. When I know I have a stock of these in my garden, nothing much can go wrong any longer.

Leave a Reply

