Getting Some Ink

Not that kind of ink.

If you’re here in Houston, make sure to pick up a copy of the latest Houston Press on newstands today.  Flip over to the dining section and there I be!  In ink!  With my real name and everything!

If you’re not local, here’s a link to the article:  The Tastes of Textile.  (And if you’re intent on leaving a comment on the article, you can do so here.)

This is my first “real” restaurant review, in that someone paid me to do this and then actually used valuable ink and paper to publish it.  I’m still a bit stunned by that.  Moreover, I’m still happily befuddled about being allowed to review such a high-profile restaurant and I know that — undoubtedly — people will question why a bottom-rung, low-man-on-the-totem-pole food writer like me was chosen to review Textile.  I can’t answer that.  But I can say that I’m extremely appreciative for the opportunity.  Working with the folks over at the Houston Press — both on this review and on the food blog (Eating Our Words) has been one of the best experiences of my life so far.

Okay, that was me being sappy.  Hope you enjoyed it.

Now go read the review!

EDIT:  There’s been some feedback on the review this morning, from two different sources.  Plinio Sandalio, the pastry chef at Textile, wrote a short blog about the review.  And H Town Chow Down, one of my favorite local food blogs, has a write-up concentrating on one of the aspects of Textile that bothered me the most.

13 responses to “Getting Some Ink

  1. Read every word! You go, girl ….. well done, as always.

  2. I find it hilarious that you have to specify ink doesn’t mean a tattoo. 🙂

    Congrats. The article was fantastic.

  3. Awesome, chick! When are you quiting the day job?

  4. great article. you nailed it

  5. Excellent review! They should have you do more of them, esp. if Robb is writing a book.

  6. Take the pressure off him and all. Forgot to mention that, lest he hunt me down and torture me with oysters.

  7. great review katharine!

  8. Congratulations! What a thrill!

  9. Way to go K ! You make the family so proud! Now where’s my dictionary? There were too many words in your article that I have to look up. 🙂

  10. well done. you never cease to amaze.

  11. H-Town Chow Down

    Wonderful review – the Chronicle has a new star.

  12. Congratulations. It was a very well-written review. I enjoyed it.

    So who was the photographer?

  13. @anonymouseater: The Press ended up using their own photographer for the shoot, a guy by the name of Troy Fields. I don’t know him, but he got a good shot of that tart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

