Tuesday Trivia: Part Troll

The past couple of weeks have been both good and bad.

Good because I’m still excited about the Textile review, still excited about blogging at the Houston Press, still excited about all the wonderful meals and glasses of wine I’ve enjoyed with friends lately, still excited about writing articles for the Press’ upcoming Menu of Menus edition and still excited about being able to balance everything — work, home, writing, etc. — without too badly damaging any one area in the process.

Bad because I fear that I won’t be able to continue this balancing act, because I’ve been overwhelmed with work from all sides (no, seriously, I do have a day job, despite some peoples’ fanciful ideas to the contrary, and it continues to be quite demanding) and because I’ve been letting the trolls and negative comments — both on my blogs at the Houston Press and on blogs that don’t even belong to me — get me down in spite of myself.  I’m not linking to any of the comments; it’s not worth it and they don’t deserve the attention.  And I’ve begun immediately deleting the particularly nasty ones that discuss things like sex acts and contain vicious personal attacks on my character, as if the trolls actually know me from Adam.

I had a nice discussion with Houston Foodie last night over an amazing dinner at Gravitas, though, which gave me much needed perspective on the whole issue.  This morning, he sent me a fascinating New York Times article that takes a look into the psychologies of trolls.  It makes me sad for what are essentially very damaged and/or very deranged people, taking out their frustrations in the ultimate passive-aggressive medium and cowering behind anonymity.

I’m not new to the Interwebz.  I’m not new to trolling.  I’m not naive or stupid and I usually don’t rise to the bait when I see trolls performing their socially awkward little dances on forums or blogs.  So I’m more disappointed in my own behavior and childish responses than in anything these few people have said, but the only thing to do now is to follow my own advice to countless other people and let them haters hate.  Rising to the occasion only makes me look like the asshole.

So let’s put all this nastiness behind us and instead focus on today’s Tuesday Trivia (or, as I’ve been reminded to call it by Groovehouse on the non-Q&A days, a “survey”).  Let the games begin!

  1. How do you take your coffee?  Don’t drink coffee?  How do you take your tea?  Don’t drink tea?  Good God, man, what do you drink?
  2. My university was practically owned by a bizarre combination of Drayton McClane and Dr Pepper.  We had Dr Pepper hours every Thursday and it was the only carbonated beverage poured on campus.  As a result, I have Dr Pepper coursing through my very veins and would choose it over any soft drink, any day of the week.  What’s your favorite soft drink?  Or, for you Texans, what’s your favorite coke?
  3. Food and wine pairing is a given.  Do you consciously pair your food with beer?
  4. What’s your favorite beverage to cool you down on a hot day?  To warm you up on a cold night?
  5. It was always a huge treat on the rare occasion that my mother put those little silver Capri Suns into my lunchbox as a kid.  What was your favorite drink from childhood?

…and I’ve inadvertently turned this into an all-beverage survey.  No matter.  Drink it up and pour it out in the comments section below.

29 responses to “Tuesday Trivia: Part Troll

  1. You ask, “Or, for you Texans, what’s your favorite coke?”

    EXCUSE ME.🙂
    That is a southern term, not a Texas term. I grew up in the beautiful state of North Carolina and my relatives and ancestors live(d) throughout the real South and we ALL called soft drinks “coke.”

    I’m a bit touchy about this, but Southerners are not Texans and vice versa. Texans are wonderful people, I’ve lived here most of my life, but southerners they aren’t.

  2. Herro. Here’s my input. Commit it to memory.

    1. Community Coffee as dark as you can stand it with lots of milk and sugar. No, it’s not really a cafe au lait because I do it myself.

    2. Coke is my favorite Coke. And, yes it is Southern term. Texas is not the south. Texas is Texas & steals the good stuff from other Southern states.

    3. Yes. There is nothing better than a nice medium rare burger and a Whatney’s Cream Stout. Mmm.

    4. Water if I need to function. High Life if I have just finished mowing the lawn.

    5. Grape Kool-Aid.

  3. 1. milk & sugar: -3 man points
    2. Black Raspberry Soda or Ginger Beer: -1 & +1 man pts
    3. food with beer? Yes, @risk of another -2: Pyramid Apricot w/spict thai food FTW!
    4. cool on a hot day? Beer or an Arnold Palmer +1
    Warm on a cold night? Bourbon, Bourbon Hot Toddy +2
    5. What was your favorite drink from childhood? Schlitz, PBR, Tang +2

    Think I broke even.

  4. I’m not a foodie, but I wanna play! Also, sucks about the trolls. You’re a tough cookie, K – they’re just seeing how far they can push before they break you. Don’t let ’em! Here goes:

    1. Coffee with lotsa sugar (REAL sugar), lotsa cream (skim milk, half and half, powder – whatever’s available). Now that I think about it, coffee is probably the least-used ingredient in that concoction. Oh well.

    2. Dr Pepper FTW!!!

    3. No. Dark beer goes with everything. Everything!

    4. On a hot day – Taco Bell’s Strawberry Fruitista Freeze! Cold night – a big, full-bodied red wine.

    5. OMG I love Capri Sun. I still buy them sometimes. Also, at my school cafeteria, they served milk in a bag, which was disgusting. Now that I work at the Blood Center, I’ve decided that bagged milk looks way too much like platelets for my liking.

  5. Wow, Brad. Um…hi.

    I completely agree with you: Southerners aren’t Texans and vice versa. I was just having the same discussion with someone a few nights ago.

    But the fact remains that pretty much everyone in Texas calls soft drinks “cokes.” I didn’t say it was exclusive to Texas, however.

    So either you’ve decided to manifest my troll complaints above — in which case, good job — or you’re just very touchy about soft drinks. Either way, why not just answer the damn trivia questions? 🙂

  6. 1. Black coffee. Iced tea with lime and Sweet and Low.

    2. Diet A&W Cream Soda.

    3. Yes.

    4. Hot day: Lots of ice water.
    Cold day: Hot chocolate.

    5. I don’t remember what it was called, but it was brightly colored fruit punch in a little barrel-shaped plastic bottle w/ a foil top. Those ruled.

  7. ** I’ve been letting the trolls and negative comments — both on my blogs at the Houston Press and on blogs that don’t even belong to me – get me down in spite of myself. I’m not linking to any of the comments; it’s not worth it and they don’t deserve the attention. And I’ve begun immediately deleting the particularly nasty ones that discuss things like sex acts and contain vicious personal attacks on my character, as if the trolls actually know me from Adam. **

    As I think you’re learning, if you’re going to write regularly in the opinion space, you’re gonna have to develop thick skin or risk becoming a basket case. Someone, somewhere is gonna disagree with you because he didn’t LIKE that you didn’t use a comma in one place. Or that you made a joke about something that is really important to her. Or that you didn’t treat some topic with the reverence he would have. Or simply because they don’t like your smile/eyes/hair/frown/whatever. It can be completely irrational, which is why you have to give that sort of thing exactly the amount of thought it deserves (zip).

    Now, good critical commenters are a different story altogether. Disagreement is great, as are different perspectives. And really, I *want* to know if I’ve made a factual error so I can correct (although I do laugh at a couple of Chronsters who secretly email me thinking they’ve “caught” me only to discover, not so much — where do they find the time on the sinking ship?). All good, that sort of thing!

    But trolls — not really. We made the call early on that we were going to be pretty aggressive in dealing with trolls on bH, and I think the result is some pretty good discussion without so much nastiness. Zap those trolls without thinking twice and without letting ’em get you down!🙂

  8. I second the “let them haters hate” comment.
    I’m a teetotaler so I’m skipping the questions that pertain to alcohol.

    1. I like coffee, but rarely drink it since I can’t handle the caffeine. I like my tea with local honey to help with seasonal alergies.

    2. Since moving to Houston I’ve become quite fond of St. Arnold’s Root Beer (made with pure cane sugar!). My favorite fizzy beverage is still Red Rock Ginger Ale (also made with pure cane sugar + a little hot red pepper)

    4. Tall glass of sweet iced tea with lemon for hot days and Mexican hot chocolate for cold days.

    5. Grapico! This probably give away the region of my upbringing even more than the sweet tea. If we were good my grandma would let us get a Grapico and a Moon Pie at the store.

  9. Don’t feed the trolls! 😀

    I have a couple and what I sometimes do is just randomly delete their comments without comment and then wait for their heads to explode.

    Once you stop taking them seriously it all starts to even out. Of course, some day you might even MEET one of the trolls in person. When that day comes you won’t even know they are trolls. This is because they will be as nice to you as can be. Something about the anonymity of the internet.

    Now, onto the TRIVIA….

    1.How do you take your coffee? Don’t drink coffee? How do you take your tea? Don’t drink tea? Good God, man, what do you drink?

    Coffee two ways: either straight up, no chaser or Americana. No sugar,cream etc. Except for the occasional latte when I’m in the mood for something sweet.

    My university was practically owned by a bizarre combination of Drayton McClane and Dr Pepper. We had Dr Pepper hours every Thursday and it was the only carbonated beverage poured on campus. As a result, I have Dr Pepper coursing through my very veins and would choose it over any soft drink, any day of the week. What’s your favorite soft drink? Or, for you Texans, what’s your favorite coke?

    Anything that’s still made w/cane sugar. I can’t drink HFCS soft drinks any more. Mainly I just drink almost any diet soda that’s on the market. Pepsi Max is good, as is Coke Zero Vanilla.

    Food and wine pairing is a given. Do you consciously pair your food with beer?

    Yes, venison chili screams for a Stout. It just does.

    What’s your favorite beverage to cool you down on a hot day? To warm you up on a cold night?

    Cool down? Sweet Tea.
    Warm up? Bourbon w/agave nectar

    It was always a huge treat on the rare occasion that my mother put those little silver Capri Suns into my lunchbox as a kid. What was your favorite drink from childhood?

    Chocolate Soldier. I used to love that stuff.

  10. 1. Coffee- dark roast please w/ half & half & one sweet n low. Tea- Earl Grey or Irish Breakfast please w/ perhaps just a bit of honey or nothing at all.

    2. Well there only a few brands I am unflichingly loyal to, Coca Cola is one. As much as I love the real sugar based Cokes, my diet only permits a few a year, so it’s Coke Zero for me. Ting when I’m in the Carribean. Schweppes Bitter Lemon when I’m in Europe.

    3. U know me, dry boy, but put me near anything w/ saurkraut and I’ll figure something out (St. Pauli Girl NA). Man, I miss Paulener 1640

    4. HOT-Smart Water & that outrageous basil lemonade at Discovery Green. COLD DAY- A good non fat latte or the mulled hot apple cider my bro makes

    5. Well since chocolate milkshakes are more food than beverage, I would say getting a tall glass of cold milk and heaping some Hershey’s Quick on top and watching my little choco-island fall into the lacto-abyss, turning it slowly brown. Anticipation!

  11. 1. Coffee, black. Unless it’s espresso with some really good steamed milk. But regular coffee, ALWAYS ALWAYS black.

    But coffee makes my stomach hurt, so I don’t drink it often–tea more than anything. Loose leaf, straight up. I don’t do tea bags (heheheh.) unless they’re fine mesh with full leaf tea inside. Tea snob? Maybe. But my tea is better than your tea.

    2. I’d just like to say that I have lived in Texas my ENTIRE life and have never referred to a Dr. Pepper as “Coke.” I might say “get some cokes from the store” but when it comes to specifics, there’s just no confusing the two. I think overall I’d have to say either really good root beer or proper ginger beer.

    3. I don’t usually pair my food and beer. I just drink whatever I’m in the mood for.

    4. Hot day, homemade limeade or fresh sun tea. Cold day, hot chocolate with a little mint schnapps or spiced cider.

    5. My favorite drink as a kid was definitely spiced cider, because it’s AWESOME and because it meant that it was cold outside.

  12. 1. I take my sugar with a little bit of coffee. I take my sugar with a little bit of tea. (probably why I’m so stinkin’ sweet!! [sarcasm])
    2. Fresca. . .with Absolut Limon.
    3. There is a beer for all occasions. Currently Dale’s Pale Ale chooses the food I’ll eat.
    4. Whew: a blue moon with a slice of orange. Brrrr: A hot toddy (with lemons and honey from the farmer’s market in midtown!)
    5. Wassail. . .but only during Christmas. And alcohol free, until we were legal of course!!

  13. 1. I have one cup of coffee a week, on Sunday mornings, and I take it with a dash of cream, if I have some in the fridge. If not, black. Mostly I drink tea, and I take it straight, hot or cold.

    2. I used to love Henry Weinhard’s root beer – not sure if they make it anymore or if it’s the same as I remember. Now my favorite is Orangina, though I usually just have water or milk.

    3. Absolutely! Though that’s really my husband’s specialty.

    4. There is no more refreshing drink on the planet than a Gin & Tonic. When it’s cold, I like hot chocolate, hot toddies, or mulled wine.

    5. My first favorite was Orange Crush, though I also liked grape and strawberry, and Cherry 7up… notice a pattern?

  14. 1. Coffee: Black. No sugar, no cream. For espresso drinks, Americano black in the office as all we have is a $10k espresso maker. Tough life, I know.
    2. Dr Browns Black Cherry
    3. Only when I think it matters. In other words, probably not.
    4. Cool me down: Fresh squeezed lemonade. Warm me up: Talisker. Neat. Put ice in my scotch and I’ll punch you in the face.
    5. IBC Rootbeer. What can I say, I always was a food snob.

  15. 1. I’m the weirdo that really doesn’t drink either.🙂

    2. Dr. Pepper. There really isn’t a close second.

    3. I don’t really like to drink anything but water with food, so no.

    4. Water, Gatorade. For night, hot chocolate. Mmm…f

    5. Kool Aid!

  16. 1.How do you take your coffee? Don’t drink coffee? How do you take your tea? Don’t drink tea? Good God, man, what do you drink?

    Coffee with sugar and heavy cream. And, yes, I’m aware that it’s horrifyingly bad for me but I have one cup a day and I’m going to enjoy it. Dammit.

    2. What’s your favorite soft drink?

    Dr Pepper – but with the HFCS, I only have like one every two years😦

    3. Do you consciously pair your food with beer?

    Yes, I do with both wine and beer.

    4. What’s your favorite beverage to cool you down on a hot day? To warm you up on a cold night?

    Hot day – a big pitcher of freshly brewed Luzianne iced tea with lemon and sugar

    Cold day – either homemade hot chocolate or any variety of hot tea

    5. What was your favorite drink from childhood?

    Mountain Dew (remember, I’m old, so none of the “cokes” taste anything like they did when I was a kid).

  17. 1. Don’t drink coffee unless I’m sick or it’s a Sbux frap. Iced tea with lemon, 1 pink & 1 blue dose of cancer

    2. Working nights back in my college days, we could go through a 6pk of Dr Pepper in one night. Now, I try to stay away from “leaded” sodas. I do like Coke Zero Cherry and Diet A&W Cream Soda.

    3. Don’t drink beer or wine with food. Do like beer with wings or pizza though. Any beer.

    4. Love a fresh squeezed lemonade in the summertime. Mulled cider is a nice warm up in the winter.

    5. Nothing special as a kid, but I do remember we used to get Quick Kick from dad’s work and that was for after the soccer games. Tasted way different than Gatorade.

  18. Oh, BTW, if I ever get my hands on any of those “trolls”, they’ll wish they had cut their fingers off before they had typed any of *those* posts. I’m not known as “the last resort” for nothin.

  19. K…. Thanks. That was best laugh of the day. I LOVE your blog.

  20. I heard a comedian, Kat Williams, once say.
    “If you ain’t getting hated on then you aint doing something right”

  21. 1. How do you take your coffee? Don’t drink coffee? How do you take your tea? Don’t drink tea? Good God, man, what do you drink?

    Coffee: Two shots of espresso, usually as a soy latte. Can’t drink milk; my stomach will hate me for the rest of the day. Tea: Green tea, usually. We have some black tea from Ikea that we’re working through right now.

    2. My university was practically owned by a bizarre combination of Drayton McClane and Dr Pepper. We had Dr Pepper hours every Thursday and it was the only carbonated beverage poured on campus. As a result, I have Dr Pepper coursing through my very veins and would choose it over any soft drink, any day of the week. What’s your favorite soft drink? Or, for you Texans, what’s your favorite coke?

    In Illinois, we either call it soda or pop. I call it soda. I don’t have a favorite; I try to drink water whenever possible.

    3. Food and wine pairing is a given. Do you consciously pair your food with beer?

    Occasionally. I’ll have beer with Tex-Mex and English/Irish food.

    4. What’s your favorite beverage to cool you down on a hot day? To warm you up on a cold night?

    *pant pant* I like Blue Moon with orange, a good Hefeweizsen, or homemade lemonade with sparkling water.
    *brrr!* Hot chocolate spiked with Bailey’s, Irish coffee, or glog (Norwegian version of wassail, but it has wine AND aquavit! Thank you, in-laws!)

    5. It was always a huge treat on the rare occasion that my mother put those little silver Capri Suns into my lunchbox as a kid. What was your favorite drink from childhood?

    Hmmm…chocolate malted milk made by my father. I also have fond memories of snack time at my grandparents’ house (Archway iced lemon cookies and Ocean Spray cran-apple juice).

  22. I feel bad about the hecklers. No fair for your debut at the Press. I, too, want to jump down their collective throats, and maybe rip them out, a little. It is so much more fun without them. Can’t wait to see what you have to say about the Grove. I have VERY strong opinions on that joint. But will remain, as always, yours faithfully, Mary

  23. 1. Never developed a taste for coffee

    2. What’s your favorite soft drink? Coca Cola

    3. Don’t drink beer

    4. Iced tea, hot chocolate with marshmellows

    5. What was your favorite drink from childhood? lemonade

  24. By the way, those trolls better knock it off. Don’t make aunt Deb come down there!

  25. If the hecklers have anything to do with your Joel Osteen piece, etc. – I’m a former campus minister of a non-denominational, evangelical (similar to Baptist) background, and I found your article to be surprisingly well Biblically informed. Your familiarity with the issues at hand was clearly much, much greater than many of your supposedly more religious detractors.

    It is not atypical for the people with the least understanding to behave the most poorly, or violently, sadly – look at religious violence throughout history, including today.

    Keep up the great writing and don’t give a second thought to the haters!

    Fed

  26. @Fedaykin98: My religion professors at college and many Sunday school teachers will be glad to know they didn’t waste all that Bible-teachin’ on me for nothing. 😉

  27. 1. I don’t drink caffeine (I know this is shocking to many). So mostly it’s water, various “-ades”, or iced herbal tea. Or club soda with a little fruit juice.

    2. I do like ginger beer! Beaver’s homemade ginger beer is fan-frakking-tastic, especially in a Dark & Stormy concoction.

    3. Beer is my go-to beverage for many cuisines… and I usually stick with the rule to drink the beer from the country where the food is from. Polish, Belgian, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Thai, Mexican…

    4a. Hot day – iced hibiscus tea. Got hooked on this in Egypt as “karkade”. Aka “flor de jamaica” in your local Fiesta. Also an iced cool mint tea with a little honey is extremely refreshing. Or, for a vacation poolside, frosty pineapple margaritas.

    4b. Cold night – well, we don’t get that many of those here, do we? Does beer or red wine count?

    5. McDonald’s Orange Drink. Love it in all it’s sugary falseness. Do they still make it?

  28. 1. Strong with 1/2-n-1/2 and sugar. Period.

    2. The now discounted Jones Vanilla Coke. Loved it and haven’t found any decent substitute. I only drink soda on the odd occasion. I do enjoy some of the more esoteric flavors now (grapefruit, the lemongrass and lavendar and vanilla Dry Soda(tm) brand, and others) but usually mix them with club soda and and other elements.
    3. On occasion. I tend toward amber to dark beers (ales, stouts, porters, etc.) when I do, so they tend to be more robust dishes – or the occasional deep dark flavorful dessert with the right porter or stout.

    4. Sparkling water/club soda on a hot day (maybe with a touch of citrus or juic), or ice tea; Hot tea or hot chocolate on a cold night.

    5. Ice cold milk.

  29. Better late than never, right? Hey Katharine…I can be hired for a small fee to “off” all trolls for ya!!!🙂 You are an amazing person…Keep the ol’ chin up!

    1. Take coffee with milk or cream. Tea – milk and honey
    2. Love me some ginger ale. And the occasional Orange Fanta
    3. Have done…I like having some of the better microbrews when grilling…or out eating burgers or crawfish.
    4. Iced Tea or an Arnie Palmer to cool down. Hot tea usually to warm up or a hot toddy
    5. Frozen capri suns that would melt by lunch…sometimes not and I would have an Island Punch slushy…takes me back.

Leave a Reply

