The Fruit Spectrum

If you thought I could just let this one go by, well, then, you were sadly mistaken.

20080226-eff-grapefruit.jpg

This cartoon, from my favorite web comic xkcd, is simply entitled “F*** Grapefruit.”  The full-size version can be found here.

What you can’t see from the picture is the caption that appears when you hold your cursor over the comic at its original website:

Coconuts are so far down to the left that they couldn’t even be fit on the chart. Ever spent half an hour trying to open a coconut with a rock? F*** coconuts.

While you may not agree with the placement of the fruits on the spectrum, you have to love the idea.

Personally, I would place those crappy seeded grapes much further left.  Who likes spitting out seeds?  It’s not the most ladylike activity.  I hate seeded grapes.

Also, this proves that my friend Jessica was right about a potential business venture: pre-packaged pomegranate seeds.  Sure, picking the delicious little seeds out of a pomegranate is fun for, like, five minutes when you’re about eleven years old.  But it sucks for everyone else.  And they stain like nothing else in this world.  Those definitely need to be further left, but also much higher on the tasty side.

5 thoughts on “The Fruit Spectrum”

  1. I totally agree with you on the seeded grapes. It seems like my family will only eat seeded ones though because “they taste better” They just don’t want me to eat them all..haters. lol fuck coconuts.

  2. @ Joy: Serious Eats, man. I don’t know how they do it. They find they funniest stuff every day. I adore them. 🙂

    @ Foodie Cutie: They so do NOT taste better! I’ve heard that argument, too. I think people just enjoy making things difficult. 🙂

    @ Matt: Exactly. It’s either build some complicated seeding machine or use questionable labor from an unstable country. Neither seem to be very tenable options… 🙂

Leave a comment